Polity Lecture (IAS) : Article 1, Part 1, Constitution of India, Part 1/2 : IAS

Sunday, September 4, 2016

Article 1 of the Constitution of India explained. To watch the video click http://youtu.be/BRF9PRWHwE0

Article 1 in the Constitution states that
1) India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of States.
2) The territory of India shall consist of: The territories of the states,The Union territories and
3) Any territory that may be acquired.

The names of the States and the Unions have been described in the First Schedule. This schedule also held that there are four Categories of State and territories – Part A, Part B, Part C and Part D.

Part A – includes the nine provinces which were under British India
Part B – princely states consisted of this category
Part C – centrally administered five states
Part D – Andaman and Nicobar Islands

In the seventh amendment of the Constitution in 1956 the distinction between the Part A and Part B states was abolished. Subsequently states were reorganized on linguistic basis. As a result several new states were formed, eg. Haryana, Goa, Nagaland, Mizoram etc.

At present there are 29 States and 7 union territories.

Vaibhav Garg

Video Rating: / 5


  1. shuni jangid says:

    Grt work Please post more videos

  2. Anurag George Ekka says:

    Very helpful… Keep up the good work.

  3. Nadeem Qureshi says:

    Thank you

Leave a Reply